top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachel Wethers

Comicon: A Place for All




This past weekend, I attended the Midwest Planet Comicon in Kansas City with my partner and step kiddos. It was a blast! I wore myself (and my fitbit) out for sure. But I don't think I've been that happy since the pandemic started. Everyone had come together, with respectful expectations of mask wearing and social distancing. Fandoms and cosplay were represented everywhere, and fans lined up for photos with their favorite actors and creators, some standing in line for hours for a picture with plexiglass between them. And happily would have stood in line for many hours more for those who hadn't made it. For someone who often recognizes that the midwest has been a tenuous place for pandemic concerns, no one need worry, as not once did we see a conflict over masks or safety. Everyone stayed healthy and smart. Phew!





Personally, I was psyched to meet the voices of Ariel and Pocahontas, voices from my childhood who spoke (and SANG) of independence from the only worlds they had known. Voices of wisdom, comfort, and tenacity, to fight for justice and to fight for more than young girls are often promised. Oh, and I bought way too much.





I really need to figure out a way to write off Comicon trips for business. Does blogging about it count?? Just kidding. But I do want to try to sign up to speak on a panel next year, with some fellow geek therapists. Mental health definitely has a growing voice at Comicons.


Interestingly, the topic of mental health came up over and over in panels. And over and over, stars, famous actors and actresses would get vulnerable with the fans who cherished every word they would say, and would share stories of difficulty, stories of facing diagnosis or fearing shame from loved ones in fighting for stability. One of my fav moments was by the Supernatural cast, and Katie Cassidy and Kim Rhodes both shared vulnerable stories (see the first 3 minutes HERE), to support a fan question for advice when struggling after such a hard year and a half that many of us can relate to.





Mostly, I was reminded of how lovely it is at Comicon, where everyone is accepted, there is no size, gender, orientation, style, or fandom that makes you too strange to relate to. EVERYONE belong's at Comicon. Everyone is appreciated and supported, by their fellow Con attendee's and even by the famous creators and actors who carry such value for the role of the Fandom's in the development of their fame. Fans dressed up in every costume imaginable, from Rainbow Brite to Darth Vader. So many lovely families who dressed up for the Con together, showing connection over their child (or the parents!) favorite things at a whole new level. My personal fav's were the Teen Titan's Fam, and the Beetlejuice and Lydia duo. A few fun fan pics...





And have I mentioned that we met Greg Cipes?? Beast Boy? Michael Angelo from TMNT's?? IronFist? He's a family fav and he and Wingman G always bring smiles to our faces. And as a therapist, I loooove how he is bringing mindfulness and meditation to kids and all aged fans alike.





So, until next year, Comicon. Where I am hoping to add the Midwest Chicago Con to my schedule... Being a geeky therapist is the BEST ya'll!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page